More Health News

25 01 2009

Hi …

I thought I was done writing about my health …

I had a blissful few days there …

Thinking everything was looking up…

Then I got some test results back from a blood test …

I have really high cholesterol and really high blood pressure …

It’s kind of to be expected since I was barely able to walk for the better part of eighteen months …

But the doc looked really worried …

He checked my height and weight and entered them into the computer …

My BMI makes the obese category by 0.5 …

Apparantly I’m overweight …

No shit sherlock!

It kinda happens when you haven’t been able to walk for a couple of years …

Then he asked …

“Do Heart Attacks run in your family?”

My mother had a stroke … her brother had a heart attack …

Apparantly I’m in the high risk category …

Yay!

I was already planning to get fit and healthy once my leg was better, but now I have extra impetus …

This is an impetus I don’t really need right now …

I should have written this before now…

but to be honest …

it’s just a bit embarassing …

it shouldn’t have gotten this far really …

Well …

I have an appointment with a dietitian …

an appointment I should have made years ago …

already in the last two weeks I haven’t eaten any chocolate, potato chips, fried foods, takeaway food, biscuits, cakes, eggs, fatty meats …

all the things that used to be a large part of my diet …

and I’ve exercised minimum 30 minutes every day …

it doesn’t sound like much but I’ve gotta start somewhere …

I have another test in early Feb …

Depending on the results I might have to take drugs for the rest of my life…

This has changed my plans a bit …

I’m staying in Australia until I can get this sorted out …

Fiancee is heading back to Korea as soon as possible …

I don’t have a lot of faith in long distance relationships …

But we’ll see what happens…

Well guess I have to get my butt down to the unemployment office…

This year isn’t really going as planned so far…

But I guess if it will make me a healthy person it will be worth it!

Actions

Information

One response

26 01 2009
h

hey, that would be bad to hear, but as you say, it’s kinda gotta be expected after you couldn’t even walk without pain for ages and ages…not like you could head off to a badminton court when you wanted to.

It is awful to have to overhaul your life for health reasons, but I can tell you that you will feel heaps better quite quickly and that will be a big incentive. I found that once I started doing exercise regularly a whole heap of stuff happened – I could sleep better, concentrate better, I felt like doing more stuff generally. I think it’s cause exercise causes the release of alot of good hormones like dopamine and serotonin, which just generally make you feel good. I always set myself goals too, like if I can exercise for a full week I can go and buy a DVD or something like that to push me to go. I don’t make it as much as I should, but at least I am thinking about doing it – the other thing I did was not bother about weighing myself. I got a tape measure instead and did weekly measurements around my waist, hips, upper thighs, upper arms & bust. It is a greater incentive because you quickly lose inches off your size.

I have never done well with deprivation of food types but (this is of course just my two bob’s worth) I found I could cut down on things like chocolate by having freddo frogs and caramello koalas when I felt the chocolate attack coming on – they give you the sugar hit without feeling too deprived. Chocolate paddlepops are cool as well – they are quite good for you and super yummy.

If you do want to chat about this kind of stuff, let me know, because it is something that I am really interested in, and have done a fair bit of research on. Actually, I have thought of doing a B. Health Nutrition at some point:)

Good luck!!!
xxx

Leave a Reply

