Leg Update 8: The Final Update!

13 01 2009

Yay!

It looks like my updates have come to an end!

About my leg anyway!

In my last update – the doctor had told me to go off the contraceptive pill, continue using my compression stocking and take 100mg of aspirin every day.

Ironically, after ten years of pain this seems to have had an amazing effect!

Before the aspirin I’d be lying on the bed unable to move a muscle lest it aggravate the pain before the painkillers set in …

Before the aspirin I’d be waking up in the morning planning to only take 20 steps for the entire day; and those were all full of pain …

Before the aspirin, I had to use a walking stick to get around and I actually understood where Dr. House was coming from in every episode!

After the aspirin, I can get up and walk around freely, do about 200 steps a day and even help a friend move house!

I only wish one of the many doctors I’d seen before hand had managed to suggest the same thing …

Still much better than the Korean hospital that wanted to remove a third of my leg muscle … so glad I walked away from that idea…

Yeah that was a terrible joke …

So according to the doctor the plan is to stay on the aspirin for the next twelve months as it should keep working.

If at that time things go bad or to how they were before then I’ll have to see about the alcohol injections etc but that is something to be used if the current course of action doesn’t work.

Anyway, the doctor has given me the all clear to go back to Korea for twelve months …

Yay! I’m ecstatic!

Finally, I have my life back!

It’ll probably take us about a month or so to get jobs and go through the fun task of applying for visas etc

Now the next fun task; to find a job.

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 01 2009
Conrad

That’s fantastic news! I reckon we should partay – especially before you head off again!

13 01 2009
silvergirl2010

Yes I think a partay is in order!

13 01 2009
Christopher

That is good news! Well, let us know if you’re swinging around our way before you leave. Would be good to catch up.

BTW I have a book to recommend: “White Tiger” by Kylie Chan. It’s about a 28 year-old Australian teaching English in HK who ends up working for an ancient Chinese God. The first chapter where she was being told-off for doing too much conversation and not enough cramming for exams made me think of you guys. A good read.

13 01 2009
h

Yay! such a simple answer in the end! I guess sometimes the simplest solutions are right there at the ends of our noses! It is great that you are able to get back into the swing of things as well – yay for life! So, are you planning to head back straight away? and then what?? How long are you planning to teach? As someone who has one of the most interesting of my friend’s lives, I am keen to live vicariously through you and your adventures.

24 01 2009
Kimbob

That’s great news. Does this mean you can go dancing now? And perhaps we might see some rugrats in the near future 🙂

Leave a Reply

